The Bombay Marines

The Bombay Marines

£2.99

Porter Hill
SKU: 978 0285 64211 9 Categories: , Tag:

Product Description

The first book in the Adam Horne trilogy of seafaring adventure in the tradition of Hornblower and Ramage.

It is 1761 and Pondicherry, the last stronghold of the French in India, has fallen to the British. Captain Adam Horne is the commander of the Bombay Marines, the East India Company’s private fighting ships, defending India’s coast and naval trading routes.

Captain Horne is given a secret mission: to capture the defeated French commander, Thomas Lally, from the prison of Fort St. George on Madras – if he fails his unit will be disbanded.

When most of the Bombay Marines are deployed on the east coast of India Horne finds his unit is left undermanned. Horne is left with only one choice: to take his pick of the motley collection of thieves, rapists and murderers held in the prisons of Bombay Castle and train them for what will be the most closely guarded campaign of the Seven Years’ War.

Drawing on a wealth of historical characters and events from the East India Company’s early history and the author’s first-hand knowledge of India and the Arabian Sea the action moves from sea to land, from the colourful waterfront of Bombay to the sadistic penal colony of Bull Island and the cataclysmic denouement within the walls of Fort St. George. Captain Adam Horne is a dashing dare-devil operating among the exotic dangers of Britain’s most coveted territory.

“It introduces Captain Adam Horne, a character as vivid as Hornblower and Ramage… The novel is packed with drama and action.”
‘Brecon and Radnor Express’

“A lively historical novel… Well researched and colourfully written… this is a thoroughgoing and uncomplicated read.”
‘Catholic Herald’

“The story has everything a good yarn should have: colour, drama, tension, pace, tantalising intrigues and sub-plots… Let’s hope we will be hearing more of Captain Adam Horne.”
‘Lloyds List’

Buy Online:

Amazon-icon

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Bombay Marines”